This vacancy has now closed

Therapeutic support worker, Learning Needs & Disabilities (28 hours)

  • Part time
  • £29,812 pro-rata
  • Edinburgh (base) with travel to Forth Valley
  • Closing 21st January 2022

  • Advertised from 6th January 2022
  • 28 hours per week. These posts are funded by the Tampon Tax Fund until 31st March 2023.


Established in 1978, Edinburgh Rape Crisis Centre (ERCC) provides a support, information and advocacy service for women, non-binary people, members of the trans community and young people aged 12 and over in Edinburgh, East and Midlothian who have experienced recent and/or historic sexual violence, including rape, sexual assault, childhood sexual abuse and commercial sexual exploitation. We also work in schools and with young people across Edinburgh and the Lothians, and strategically with multi-agency partners, towards preventing sexual violence.

The FEM project is a partnership project with Edinburgh Rape Crisis Centre, Forth Valley Rape Crisis Centre and Moray Rape Crisis Centre. The project is funded by the Tampon Tax fund to pilot an innovative, cross-region approach to increasing accessibility and inclusivity of rape crisis support for women survivors of sexual violence with learning difficulties and/or from BME communities across 7 local authority areas ranging from Central to North East Scotland

We are looking for skilled and experienced therapeutic support worker to provide specialist, trauma-informed therapeutic support to survivors with learning disabilities who have experienced any form of sexual violence at any time in their lives. The post-holder will take an approach informed by an understanding of trauma (including complex trauma).

Application notes

Closing date for applications: Tuesday 21st January 2022

This post is funded by the Tampon Tax Fund until 31st March 2023

Interviews will be held week beginning 24th January 2022.

We are committed to a diverse and inclusive workplace.

Only women need apply for the above posts under Schedule 9, Part 1 of the Equality Act 2010.